March 3, 2023
Chiefs for Change Welcomes Three New Members 

Chiefs for Change today announced three superintendents have joined the bipartisan network of district and state education leaders:

  • Jill Baker, Superintendent of Long Beach Unified School District in California.
  • Addison Davis, Superintendent of Hillsborough County Public Schools in Florida.
  • Lisa Herring, Superintendent of Atlanta Public Schools in Georgia.

“We are pleased to welcome these veteran educators to our network—they are responsible for overseeing school systems in large, diverse communities and collectively impact more than 338,000 students,” said Chiefs for Change Board Chair and Chicago Public Schools CEO Pedro Martinez. “These leaders have a deep understanding of the challenges that children and families face and are carrying out important work to boost academic achievement and support students’ wellbeing. I look forward to working with them and learning more about their strategies.”

Members of Chiefs for Change are united around a core set of beliefs. Specifically, they believe that all children must have: a safe and welcoming school; access to an excellent education; fully prepared teachers with the support they need to do their jobs well; high-quality instructional materials; and reliable and affordable pathways to college and meaningful careers.

The superintendents joining membership today have worked to increase the number of high-performing schools and reduce the number of low-performing schools. They have also spearheaded efforts to expand access to dual enrollment classes, giving students opportunities to take advanced coursework and earn their associate’s degree while still in high school. In addition, they have implemented career and technical education programming that is intended to align with the needs of regional employers and lead to good jobs in growing fields.

With these new chiefs, the network has 51 members, 42 of whom are actively serving as chiefs. Sixty-five percent of the members are leaders of color, and 55 percent are women. The members are:

  • Rob Anderson: Superintendent of Boulder Valley School District, Colorado
  • Katy Anthes: Commissioner of Education, Colorado
  • Jill Baker: Superintendent of Long Beach Unified School District, California
  • Gustavo Balderas: Superintendent of Beaverton School District, Oregon
  • Mohammed Choudhury: State Superintendent of Schools, Maryland
  • Sharon Contreras: Former Superintendent of Guilford County Schools, North Carolina
  • Margaret Crespo: Superintendent of Laramie County School District 1, Wyoming
  • Addison Davis: Superintendent of Hillsborough County Public Schools, Florida
  • Mary Elizabeth Davis: Superintendent of Henry County Schools, Georgia
  • Paolo DeMaria: Former Superintendent of Public Instruction, Ohio
  • Susan Enfield: Superintendent of Washoe County School District, Nevada
  • Lewis Ferebee: Chancellor of District of Columbia Public Schools, District of Columbia
  • Christine Fowler-Mack: Former Superintendent of Akron Public Schools, Ohio
  • Chad Gestson: Superintendent of Phoenix Union High School District, Arizona
  • Deborah Gist: Superintendent of Tulsa Public Schools, Oklahoma
  • LaTonya Goffney: Superintendent of Aldine Independent School District, Texas
  • Monica Goldson: CEO of Prince George’s County Public Schools, Maryland
  • Eric Gordon: CEO of Cleveland Metropolitan School District, Ohio
  • T. Lamar Goree: Superintendent of Caddo Parish Public Schools, Louisiana
  • Christina Grant: State Superintendent of Education, District of Columbia
  • Diana Greene: Superintendent of Duval County Public Schools, Florida
  • Errick Greene: Superintendent of Jackson Public Schools, Mississippi
  • Lisa Herring: Superintendent of Atlanta Public Schools, Georgia
  • Michael Hinojosa: Former Superintendent of Dallas Independent School District, Texas
  • William Hite: Former Superintendent of The School District of Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
  • Millard House II: Superintendent of Houston Independent School District, Texas
  • Angélica Infante-Green: Commissioner of Elementary and Secondary Education, Rhode Island
  • Jesús Jara: Superintendent of Clark County School District, Nevada
  • Barbara Jenkins: Former Superintendent of Orange County Public Schools, Florida
  • Katie Jenner: Secretary of Education, Indiana
  • Aleesia Johnson: Superintendent of Indianapolis Public Schools, Indiana
  • Michael Johnson: Former Commissioner of Education, Alaska
  • Kyla Johnson-Trammell: Superintendent of Oakland Unified School District, California
  • Brian Kingsley: Superintendent of Poudre School District, Colorado
  • Henderson Lewis, Jr.: Former Superintendent of NOLA Public Schools, Louisiana
  • Pedro Martinez: CEO of Chicago Public Schools, Illinois
  • LaTanya McDade: Superintendent of Prince William County Public Schools, Virginia
  • Scott Muri: Superintendent of Ector County Independent School District, Texas
  • Frank Rodriguez: Superintendent of Beaufort County School District, South Carolina
  • Ian Saltzman: Superintendent of Everett Public Schools, Washington
  • Sonja Santelises: CEO of Baltimore City Public Schools, Maryland
  • Penny Schwinn: Commissioner of Education, Tennessee
  • Thomas Taylor: Superintendent of Stafford County Public Schools, Virginia
  • Alicia Thompson: Superintendent of Wichita Public Schools, Kansas
  • Heather Tow-Yick: Superintendent of Issaquah School District, Washington
  • Maria Vazquez: Superintendent of Orange County Public Schools, Florida
  • Rodney Watson: Former Superintendent of Spring Independent School District, Texas
  • Avis Williams: Superintendent of NOLA Public Schools, Louisiana
  • Theresa Williams: Superintendent of Plano Independent School District, Texas
  • Carey Wright: Former State Superintendent of Education, Mississippi
  • Iranetta Wright: Superintendent of Cincinnati Public Schools, Ohio

About Chiefs for Change 

Chiefs for Change is a bipartisan network of diverse school superintendents and state education leaders. The network supports members and provides technical assistance; advocates for the adoption of effective policies and practices; and develops the next generation of bold, student-focused superintendents.